From Grey Tower Library
Jump to: navigation, search

At the Grey Tower, Aes Sedai and Asha'man have the option to be bound by the Three Oaths or not. The term Oathsworn refers to those channellers who choose to bind themselves to the Three Oaths. Whilst all Aes Sedai from the White Tower are bound to the Three Oaths, they are not considered Oathsworn, as there is no option to be raised without the Oaths.

Grey Tower Oathsworn retain the ageless look known to all, although they may additionally wear a pin to differentiate themselves. The pin is made of three metals and is worn above the breast by both Aes Sedai and Asha'man.

Removal of the Three Oaths

The suggestion to remove the Three Oaths, a long-held tradition at both the White and Grey Towers, was raised by M'Hael Jaryd Kosari[1]. The vote passed with a large majority. It is a generally held belief that the Second Seanchan Siege occurred as a direct response to this vote.

The Three Oaths

The Three Oaths that Grey Tower Accepted and Dedicated swear to are the same three oaths used by the White Tower, adjusted for the inclusion of male channellers and Asha'man.

  1. To speak no word that is not true
  2. To make no weapon with which one man may kill another
  3. Never to use the One Power as a weapon except against Darkfriends or Shadowspawn, or in the last extreme defence of their life, the life of their Warder, or another Aes Sedai or Asha'man.

See also


Pages in category "Oathsworn"

The following 157 pages are in this category, out of 157 total.